Horoscopes #2 – The Disappointment

My daily experiment continues to prove or disprove the legitimacy of horoscopes – genuine predictions or sheer unadulterated nonsense?  Some may question my findings and any conclusions I may draw from this ongoing experiment.

Warning:  The following experiment should only be replicated in a controlled environment under strict adult supervision.  I will not be held accountable for horoscopes that go wrong.

Day Two

19 February 2011

 “Sun, Mercury and Mars move into your social sector, new faces appear. There will be new places of work or perhaps you get involved with some folks whose real job is to help you heal?” [Courtesy of Daily Mirror http://www.mirror.co.uk/life-style/horoscopes/taurus/]

Just how did this prediction measure up today?  Right here goes.

 Sun, Mercury and Mars move into your social sector…

Eh? What exactly does that mean?  Google help required me thinks.  After typing in obvious keywords I eventually come up with a number of sites which seem to be offering similar information.  Now, the Sun, Mercury and Mars ARE apparently moving out of my career sector and ARE moving on into my sector of friendship and networking.  Aha – a definite link here that I can work with.  Networking – social networking, friendship – Twitter perhaps?  I have recently signed up to this modern phenomenon, and building up my following slowly, yet steadily.  Today I have gained 12 new followers – the biggest daily total to date.  Great, so far so good.

 …new faces appear 

Now this one is definitely true.  I was struggling at first with this one to get a ‘fit’ to the horoscope.  Then it dawned on me as I looked out of my kitchen window at the three new faces which had appeared in my garden.   Today, only with the help of some unexpected (albeit forecast) flurry of overnight snow was this fulfilled.  My daughter made this come true, without me realising it at the time. Lovely proof below.

 

There will be new places of work…

If this is specific to today – then I’ve waited all day and nope, no new place of work has materialised.  Let me double check this to be absolutely sure.  (Job list in no particular order):

Washing – kitchen

Cooking – kitchen

General housework – my house

Writing – dining room

Ironing – dining room

Personal grooming and hygiene – bathroom

Definitely all carried out in the usual places of work.  If I had thought about it more, I could have influenced the outcome of this experiment by changing my usual ironing environment to the living room – but I didn’t.  This element fails.

…or perhaps you get involved with some folks whose real job is to help you heal?

Now then, yesterday I was involved with the dentist.  When I say involved, what I mean by that is I had an appointment to sort out my toothache which had been troubling me for almost a week.  He helped me heal, ah but that was yesterday and this is a prediction for today isn’t it?  Have I been involved with anyone else today?  Only the usual suspects, hubby and daughter.  Is it their job to help me heal?  Generally I would say no, however, applying just a little more thought to this – if it meant that they would not have any new laundered clothes to wear, no nutritional hot meals prepared for them, no clean house to live in, no food to make those nutritional meals, then it would be a resounding ‘Yes!’  They would do everything within their power to help me heal. 

I have to consider this further though, have they needed to heal me?  No, have they heck.  I am a woman and by default that means that I will be there no matter what to maintain the routine and equilibrium required to maintain a family and household.  I have had no involvement with any other ‘folks’ today – healers or otherwise.  This too fails.

I think the only conclusion I can draw from today’s experiment is that it does not make the grade.  In fact it fell so short it was positively microscopic.  On the surface it almost sounded prophetic, yet was so generic it essentially said nothing whatsoever.  So unfortunately, my newly restored faith in the authenticity of horoscopes has been very short lived. 

However, tomorrow is another day.

2 Comments

Filed under Everyday observations

2 responses to “Horoscopes #2 – The Disappointment

  1. mysoulforsale

    This is such a cute idea for a series of posts. I’ve found some horoscopes to be eerily accurate and others to be written intentionally vaguely and fluffy. I think that the strength of a horoscope depends on the person writing it (i.e. do they actually understand the science of Astrology?).

    • Hi, I’ve really enjoyed blogging on this subject. I started it as a bit of a light-hearted joke, but starting to realise there can be a lot more to horoscopes than originally meet the eye. Very interesting subject. Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

