Horoscopes #1 – The Realisation

My original rant subject matter was to be the ridiculousness (is there such a word?  There must be because that annoying red squiggly line hasn’t appeared underneath – I digress) of horoscopes.  Horoscopes are very strange aren’t they?  There are some people who absolutely live their lives by them, some read them each day for the amusement factor, some who like to believe they’re true but wouldn’t dare admit it to anyone, and those who think that they are utter nonsense. 

Me?  I originally thought I fell into the latter category, but when I applied a little more thought – I realised it has not always been this way and to be honest I do not have a firm and justifiable opinion either way any more.  Consequently, I have chosen to embark on some thorough research to prove or disprove the authenticity of horoscopes.  Some may question my findings and any conclusions I may draw from this ongoing experiment. 

Warning:  The following experiment should only be replicated in a controlled environment under strict adult supervision.  I will not be held accountable for horoscopes that go wrong.

Day One

18 February 2011

“Finally, a decision is made and you’re ready to let everyone know your plans. There will be those who don’t agree, some need to hear more, and others couldn’t care less. It’s irrelevant, as long as you’re happy, Taurus” [Courtesy of Daily Mirror http://www.mirror.co.uk/life-style/horoscopes/ ]

Now then to see how true this prediction for the day turned out.  I’ll break it down.

Finally a decision is made…

This could mean any number of things.  It obviously relates to a major decision, although it doesn’t state ‘major’, so I’ll just plump for one that I made today.  Which one to choose?  I made a decision to get up?  I made a decision to have a cup of tea instead of coffee for breakfast?  No, I know which I’ll go for – I made a decision to make cheese toasties for lunch for hubby and little one. Yep, that one works well.

…ready to let everyone know your plans

“Cheese toasties for lunch guys if that’s ok with everyone.  They’ll be ready in about 10 minutes” I announced to a starving family.

…There will be those who don’t agree

“I fancied a ham sandwich” hubby grumbled.

“Aw – I wanted a burger – I don’t want a cheese toasty” was the small yet argumentative voice of disagreement from the other room.

…some need to hear more

“Anyway, what is a cheese toasty?” asked my ever inquisitive little one.  These days she very quickly recognises the tone in my voice which basically suggests that she either has what she gets given or she has nothing at all.

…and others couldn’t care less

That’ll be the dog then.  Well that’s not strictly true, I suppose it’s only because she didn’t understand the conversation that was going on.  If she had understood or if I had put a cheese toasty in her dish, she would have gladly welcomed it.  Anyhow, for the purpose of this experiment, it fits.

…it’s irrelevant as long as you’re happy, Taurus

I am.  Well who wouldn’t be?  Cheese toasties are really quick and easy to make, they’re relatively healthy and they’re particularly scrumptious, especially if you put Bovril or another such meat extract spread in between the bread slices to accompany the cheese.  Also I am a Taurus, well I would be wouldn’t I?  If Sagittarius was my birth sign I would surely not be reading the horoscope for Taureans.  That’s just minor detail though isn’t it?

The accuracy of the prediction was uncanny though don’t you think?  This example proves beyond any shadow of a doubt that you have to take them seriously.  What’s that you say, utter garbage?  How could you – I am remaining open minded.  Anyway, it’s only day one and I feel a lot more challenges ahead.

 Until tomorrow…

2 Comments

Filed under Everyday observations

2 responses to “Horoscopes #1 – The Realisation

  1. I cannot wait to see more of this experiment! I used to read mine every day when I was in college and grad school…I suppose that was a time in my life where everything was truly in flux and I was looking for anything to help it make a little bit of sense. Hmmm…now that I think about it, I’m not really sure how much different “now” is from “then”. Husband, 18mo old girl, mouthy calico cat…yep things are just as in flux as always! Now if only I could work cheese toasties into every day things would probably make more sense! 🙂
    Stephanie (meatlessmouthfuls)

    • Hi Stephanie – I think it could prove interesting – I wonder if I have returned to the subject because I am now looking for something to ‘sort out’ my hectic life as I once did years ago – exactly like you. And yes, you’re right it may have been many years ago, but on reflection life is just as chaotic, but just in a different way! Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

